Xenia Community Schools Foundation Announces Annual Scholarships

The XCSF awarded two $1,500.00 scholarships at the Xenia High School Scholarship Assembly on May 12, 2017.

The two recipients are Cheyann McGee and Ian Jones. The scholarships are funded with proceeds from the Xenia Community Schools Hall of Honor Dinner and Induction Ceremony.  A minimum GPA of 3.75 is required for consideration.

Cheyann is the daughter of Carrie McGee and Patrick McGee. She has been active in Xenia Women’s Soccer, Chemistry Club, NHS and Renaissance. Cheyann plans to attend Malone University and to major in Education.

Ian Jones is the son of Tim and Beth Jones. He has been active in Varsity Baseball, Varsity Football, NHS, Student Council and Prom Committee. He will attend Wilmington College and major in Secondary Education.

The Scholarship Subcommittee of the XCSF also chose the recipient for the Dale Louderback City Councilman Scholarship, which is administered through the Foundation. 2013 was the first year for this $500.00 annual scholarship. The scholarship was awarded to Spencer Titus, son of Erin and Chris Adams. Spencer has been active in Xenia Men’s Tennis, Chemistry Club, and NHS. He will attend the University of Cincinnati and major in Chemical Engineering.

The Foundation also administers the Mary Dickerson Scholarship. Ms. Dickerson was a math teacher at Xenia Community Schools. 2012 was the first year this annual scholarship was offered to a graduating senior who has plans to attend college at Ohio State University and major in education. The scholarship of $1,000.00 is sponsored by the family. This year the scholarship was awarded to Jodie Collier. Jodie’s parents are Jennifer and James Collier. Jodie will attend Ohio State University and major in Science and Mathematics Education

2017 marks the second year for the Shirley R. Ellis and X*ACT Theater Scholarship.The$500.00 scholarship was established to honor the memory of Shirley R. Ellis. It is awarded annually to a Xenia High School senior, who will attend an institution of higher education and participated in theater or attended theater classes. The X*ACT Selection Committee chose Leah Stewart as the second recipient of this award.

The John Meyer II Memorial Scholarship is funded, by the sponsor, through the Xenia Community Schools Foundation. The $2,000.00 scholarship was awarded to Alani and Aleeya Young at the annual XHS Scholarship Awards Assembly.

The Xenia Community Schools Foundation provides $3,000.00 in scholarships to a graduating senior(s). Students interested in applying for the scholarship should follow the scholarship application process adopted by the Guidance Office at Xenia High School. The Foundation Scholarship Committee reviews the applications, conduct interviews and make the final selection. The scholarship is announced at the annual awards assembly at Xenia High School. This year the assembly was held on May 12, 2017.


Return on Investment... It Pays To Belong

When a business invests in the Xenia Area Chamber, it forms a partnership with over 400 other investors that leverage time, money, and other assets to create stronger individual businesses and a stronger community.